top of page

Navaratri: Science and The Bhakti of Shakti Hinduism Lecture Course 361

This lecture provides a comprehensive Scientific, Spiritual, Ritualistic and Puranic view of Hindu Festival Navarati.

Videos are available in YouTube. 

Part 1 of 2:

Part 2 of 2 :

Science behind Navaratri

Flu seasons normally occurs when weather transitions. Two major weather pattern changes are observed in a year.

  1. From winter to summer: Mostly occurs in the months of Spring (Mach-April)

  2. From summer to winter: Mostly occurs in the months of Autumn (Sep-Oct)

Two Navaratri’s are observed same time during these weather transitions.

  1. Chaitra or Vasant Navratri is observed

  2. Sharad or Maha Navratri is observed


Navaratri: The method to build strong Immune System


As per science when weather changes following is required:

  1. Food habit change: Winter and Summer seasons have its own food habits so change in food habit is required when seasonal change occur.

  2. Detoxification of the body for 7 to 10 days

  3. Hygiene – Maintain high level of hygiene

Navaratri has following practices which satisfy above scientific requirements


  1. Simple, less spicy and vegetarian food is eaten during Navaratri period

  2. More water, juices, and other liquids are consumed which help in detoxification of the body from previous weather season

  3. Before prayers one takes a bath. One to two times prayers means 1-2 bath/day morning and evening. To offer Bhog (first offering of food to deity), one has to prepare it first by taking a bath, cleaning house, kitchen and all utensils. No one is allowed to touch the food until offering is complete. So very high standards of hygiene is practiced during Navaratri.


So, Navaratri in essence is preparing ourselves for the seasonal change to help our body to adopt the new season.


Navaratri is the tale of story of Durga, a fierce form of the Divine Mother who rides a lion and conquers the evil Mahisasura. In Hinduism the concept of a divine feminine aspect of God can be traced back as far as any written texts and human memory exist. The first text of humanity and Hinduism called Vedas contains several aspects of the divine forces of the universe. Ramayana contains prayers of divine mother and Shakti. The tenth day of Sharad Navaratri is known as Vijaydashami or Dussehera where Ram defeated and killed the evil king Ravana. Mahabharat contains prayers of divine mother and Shakti. Several Puran text have full details about mother Goddess and praying for Shakti. Markandeya Purana from Chapter 81 to Chapter 93 is the most influential text of Shaktism. The 700 sloka (verse) of 13 chapters are called as Durga Saptashati, Chandi Path and Devi Mahatyamam. The Purana have their origin in oral traditions where stories have been told generations after generations so the roots of Durga Saptasasati goes back to thousands of years.


“Nav” means 9, “Ra” = that gives solace, “Tri” = 3 types of Solace. So “Ratri” is what gives you solace from 3 types of sufferings (physical pain, mental pain, causal sufferings). Navaratri or 9 nights are the nights where one seek solace from all sufferings and get rejuvenated. 9 nights also resembles to the 9 months of mother’s womb when a child is born. So, after 9 nights of solace one makes a fresh start in life.


Shiva and Shakti

In the Shakta philosophy Shiva is the never changing eternal pure consciousness and Shakti is his energy or kinetic power. The universe is manifestation of the energy. Shiva is the omnipresent and inactive element the pure consciousness while Shakti is pure dynamic. The creation is not possible without both hence they are one.



Shaktism is a denomination of Hinduism that worships Shakti the Divine Mother Goddess. Shaktism is very broad, and it has various Devis, texts, shrines and temples associated with it.


  • 9 Durga (Nav Durga)

  • 10 Mahavidyaye

  • 16 Matrikaya

  • 18 Maha Shakti Peeth

  • 51 Shakti Peeth

  • 64 Yoginis

  • Ghandharvis, Devis, Apsaras, Yakshanis, Kinnaris

  • Puran - various Puran Texts

  • Tantra Texts


Nav Durga

The Goddess – Durga has 9 forms.

  1. Shailaputri

  2. Brahmacharini

  3. Chandraghanta

  4. Kushmanda

  5. Skandamata

  6. Katyayani

  7. Kalaratri

  8. Mahagauri

  9. Siddhidhatri


The lecture explores following aspects of Navaratri and provides a comprehensive Scientific, Spiritual, Ritualistic and Puranic view.


  • Science behind Navaratri

  • What is Navaratri

  • Bhakti of Shakti - Consciousness and Energy

  • Shaktism - Worship of Divine Mother and Science

  • Shakti Peetha

  • Devi Pooja

  • Poranic significance of Navaratri: Durga Kavach, Argala Strotram, Keelak Strotam, Devi Mahatyamam and Devi Suktam

  • Spiritual Significance of Navaratri



Nav Durga Stories

Day 1: Shailaputri

Day 2: Brahmacharini

Day 3: Chandraghanta

Day 4: Kushmanda

Day 5: Skandamata

Day 6: Katyayani

Day 7: Kalaratri

Day 8: Mahagauri

Day 9: Siddhidhatri

108 Names of Durga

Devi Suktam for All

Durga Kavacham Sanskrit

Argala Strotam

Keelak Strotam

Durga_Saptashati Complete Sloka in Sanskrit and Meaning in Hindi

Devi Mahatmyam Sloka in English and Meaning in English

Devi Mahatmyam Sloka in Sanskrit and English

51 Shakti Peeth



Sri Lalitha Sahasranamam Stothram English with meaning

Navartri- Quiz Fun:

bottom of page