top of page

Tilak- The Pride by Nikta Pandita

Today in e Yogi’s Gurukul we learned more about Hinduism. We learned Sanskrit and Vedic math. If you know how to do Vedic maths properly, you can do it under 5 seconds!

We have also learned about ancient books and scriptures of India which are: Veda, Upanishad, Bhagawad Gita, Ramayana, Mahabharata and Purana. There are four Vedas, Rig, Sama (Sam), Yajur and Atharva (Atharv). There are eighteen main Puranas , eighteen Upa-Puranas and(180+) other Puranas .The Bhagavad Gita is the part of Mahabharata. It is the conversation between Arjuna and lord Krishna at the battlefield of Kurushetra.

When I first heard of e yogi’s Gurukul I thought it would be like a Sunday school but when I got there I realised it was a lot of fun to learn new things. It taught me more stuff about where I come from and now if someone asks me a question about my culture I can always answer it. We also learned a lots of mantras .There are about 12-15 mantras and there meanings.

We did a bit of practice on tika or tilak. There are 3 different types of tikas;

1. Shaivism (followers of shiva)

2. Vaishnavas (followers of vashnu-Rama and Krishna) and

3. Shaktism (followers of mother goddess kali,Gurga).

Three horizontal parallel lines across the forehead, with or without a red dot represents Shaivism. A general pattern of two or more vertical lines resembling the letter U and representing the foot of Vishnu, with or without a central line or dot. A red circular dot symbolizes power and beauty which represents Shaktism.

In 101 course we have learned about reincarnation: when a Hindu dies we burn there body so there soul moves to a new life because its old body turned into ashes .If you bury the body the soul will stay because nothing happened to its body .That means you can’t get reincarnate.

I am looking forward to going to the next class to learn more things about my religion and my culture.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page