top of page

Yoga - The Analysis

Hi, my name is Niyati Meda and I am attending eYogi Gurukul 201 coarse.

This is my 5th class so far. This week we have been learning about Yoga. In this blog I am going to explain to you about Yoga.

There are 8 different stages in yoga:

1) Yama

2) Niyama

3) Asana

4) Pranayama

5) Pratyahara

6) Dharana

7) Dhyana

8) Samadhi.

Yama: There are 5 Yamas:

1. Nonviolence

2. Truthfulness

3. No stealing

4. Not wasting energy

5. Abstaining from greed

Niyama: Niyama is self-discipline. These are also 5. Example attending the temple regularly, reciting a prayer before food and making a habit of meditating daily.

1. Purity

2. Contentment

3. Spiritual observances

4. Study

5. Devotion

Asana: Asanas are the postures practised in Yoga. It is an important stage for good growth.

Pranayama: Pranayama is breath control to keep in a relaxed pace.

Pratyahara: Pratyahara is about turning your 5 senses (sight, touch, smell, hear and taste) into the inside world or inward.

Dharana: Since we have already dealt with the distractions outside, now we have to deal with mind distractions and concentrate on yoga.

Dhyana: This is a stage like Dharana but for longer time. This is sitting with a quiet mind in a posture for long time.

Samadhi: Patanjali calls this as Ashtanga the final stage when you are submerged into ultimate peace and joy. This is the highest stage of meditation.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page